Posted by: kinshipcircle | May 5, 2010

CRUSH VIDEOS ARE ILLEGAL CRUELTY – NOT PROTECTED FREE SPEECH

5/3/10 – KINSHIP CIRCLE
Crush Videos Are Illegal Cruelty – Not Protected Free Speech

SEND YOUR COMMENTS EITHER WAY:

  1. BY AUTO LETTER: http://www.kinshipcircle.org/letter_library/letter_new2.asp?LetterID=1896&seriesfirst=true
  2. — OR — Copy/paste emails/sample letter below into your own email

Crush fetish videos use rabbits and other small animals such as kittens, puppies, mice, hamsters… Videos/photos show women in heels piercing and crushing animals to death. A new bill enforces a law against crush videos.

H.R.5092: To amend section 48 (relating to depiction of animal cruelty) of title 18, United States Code, and for other purposes. Latest Major Action: 4/21/10 Referred to House Committee on the Judiciary.

=============================================================
SAMPLE LETTER –
CONTACT INFO AFTER SAMPLE LETTER
=============================================================

Dear Representatives, Senators, and House Judiciary Committee Members:

A 4/20/10 U.S. Supreme Court ruling facilitates animal torture in “Crush” fetish videos. In light of this U.S. vs. Stevens ruling, it is imperative that legislators back the Crush Act Amendment, H.R. 5092. The 1999 Crush Act
had prohibited creation, sale and possession of supplies depicting acts of animal cruelty. However, the new edict focuses on “depiction” rather than actual abuse. It deems the 1999 rule unconstitutional and vague.

A Missouri man was already acquitted under this U.S. vs. Stevens ruling. He’d posted videos of himself mutilating deer by driving over them repeatedly. But his depiction of this savage act was protected as free speech. Please help enforce a ban on portrayals of animal cruelty — a ban that recognizes the physical cruelty required to produce such images. Without clear legal language, crush videos, animal fighting films and more ghastly exposes will flourish.

Nearly 100 legislators support Rep. Elton Gallegly’s (R-CA) Crush Act Amendment. If you are a cosponsor, I thank you. If not, I urge you to get behind H.R. 5092. I encourage House Judiciary members to move H.R. 5092 from committee to the floor for a vote. I also ask the Senate to follow with prompt authorship and sponsorship of a bill like H.R. 5092.

Crush fetish videos show a woman’s high-heeled feet stomping small animals such as rodents, puppies and kittens. This is nothing short of an “animal snuff film.” Defenseless creatures are killed for entertainment. They suffer unbearably while crushed and dismembered.

H.R. 5092 would bypass the Court’s decision to invalidate the Crush Act. It would still ban the sale/circulation of animals shown crushed, drowned, stabbed or burned (where these activities are Illegal).

I am counting on our elected officials to take a no-tolerance stance on violent cruelty. Please prevent a rebirth of the crush video industry with swift passage of the Crush Act Amendment H.R. 5092.

Sincerely,

>>>YOUR FULL NAME
>>>ADRESS, CITY, STATE
>>>COUNTRY

=============================================================
CONTACT INFORMATION
=============================================================

1) ABOUT EMAILS
U.S. Congress members no longer post their emails. All use web forms. Most prefer not to fill out many web forms, so we researched past documents for 2009/2010 emails of House Judiciary Members, where the Crush Act Amendment currently is. The emails below did NOT bounce when tested. However, we have no control over emails that may not work.

2) AMERICANS, EMAIL-CALL-FAX YOUR OWN REP + SENATORS
To identify your federal legislators and find contact info, try:
http://www.Congress.org
http://www.senate.gov
http://www.house.gov

3) EVERYONE, SEND COMMENTS TO HOUSE JUDICIARY COMMITTEE:
John.Conyers@mail.house.gov, cynthia.martin@mail.house.gov, rinia.shelby@mail.house.gov, Howard.Berman@mail.house.gov, ca28ima.pub@mail.house.gov, julia.massimino@mail.house.gov, deanne.samuels@mail.house.gov, Rick.Boucher@mail.house.gov, laura.vaught@mail.house.gov, elizabeth.hogan@mail.house.gov, Jerrold.Nadler@mail.house.gov, amy.rutkin@mail.house.gov, siegel@mail.house.gov, joni.ivey@mail.house.gov, randi.petty@mail.house.gov, Danielle.Owen@mail.house.gov, Keith.Kelly@mail.house.gov, erin.dominguez@mail.house.gov, angela.master@mail.house.gov, william.delahunt@mail.house.gov, mark.forest@mail.house.gov, Katie.washburn@mail.house.gov, Steve.Cohen@mail.house.gov, marilyn.dillihay@mail.house.gov, craig.dulniak@mail.house.gov, ebony.simpson@mail.house.gov, eduardo.hilera@mail.house.gov, Mike.Quigley@mail.house.gov, sean.obrien@mail.house.gov, monica.foskett@mail.house.gov, Judy.Chu@mail.house.gov, Amelia.Wang@mail.house.gov, lisa.strumwasser@mail.house.gov, Rebecca.Dreilinger@mail.house.gov, jennice.fuentes@mail.house.gov, ana.rasmussen@mail.house.gov, bill.murat@mail.house.gov, leo.munoz@mail.house.gov, jayneann.wolsey@mail.house.gov, Anthony.Weiner@mail.house.gov, weiner@mail.house.gov, marie.ternes@mail.house.gov, Beth.Chrusciel@mail.house.gov

timothy.bergreen@mail.house.gov, hampden.macbeth@mail.house.gov, adrienne.elrod@mail.house.gov, meghan.johnson@mail.house.gov, tracie.pough@mail.house.gov, kate.houghton@mail.house.gov, jill.allenmurray@mail.house.gov, kaii.torrence@mail.house.gov, Andrea.Loving@mail.house.gov, Tom.Schreibel@mail.house.gov, todd.washam@mail.house.gov, Michael.Lenn@mail.house.gov, John.Mautz@mail.house.gov, Marianne.Balch@mail.house.gov, Kenneth.steinhardt@mail.house.gov, Bob.Goodlatte@mail.house.gov, Shelley.Husband@mail.house.gov, Jessica.Orsulak@mail.house.gov, Branden.Ritchie@mail.house.gov, Marilyn.Erbes@mail.house.gov, Sandra.wiseman@mail.house.gov, darrell@mail.house.gov, Mary.Pritschau@mail.house.gov, Jason.Scism@mail.house.gov, Randy.Forbes@mail.house.gov, Dee.Gilmore@mail.house.gov, Steve.King@mail.house.gov, imaia05h@mail.house.gov, Lisa.Teschler@mail.house.gov, Jacki.Pick@mail.house.gov,  Louie.Gohmert@mail.house.gov, Michael.Tomberlin@mail.house.gov, patricia.slezak@mail.house.gov, scott.lively@mail.house.gov, Evans@mail.house.gov, heather.ramsey@mail.house.gov, UT03JCIMA@mail.house.gov, Karilyn.Henshaw@mail.house.gov, nicole.dinis@mail.house.gov, juan.barnett@mail.house.gov. Michael.Cravens@mail.house.gov

4) FULL ADDRESSES + WEB FORMS: HOUSE JUDICIARY MEMBERS
–   For name/title, address, phone/fax, web forms, go to:
http://www.kinshipcircle.org/letter_library/letter_new2.asp?LetterID=1896&seriesfirst=true

–   OR, Request full contact information of House Judiciary Committee from:
info@kinshipcircle.org

He came into this world on a crash and a wave…

The floppy-eared puppy was born just days before an 8.8 earthquake and tsunami swept over Chile’s coastal towns. We don’t know how he escaped waters that made 5 to 6 feet rings around buildings. We don’t know where he hid as structures collapsed. We do know the pup dubbed Francisco de Tubul did it alone. Somehow this tiny dog — crippled, starving — stayed alive…

TUBUL’S STORY: http://www.kinshipcircle.org/chile/2010-mar-april-notes.html

Please help. We need funds to buy vet supplies in Chile…
Your support gives animals like Tubul a second change.

http://www.kinshipcircle.org/donation

**  CHILE PHOTO LOG: http://www.kinshipcircle.org/chile/2010-april-photolog.html
**  FIELD NOTES: http://www.kinshipcircle.org/chile/2010-mar-april-notes.html
••  CHILE HOME: http://www.kinshipcircle.org/chile

ACTION CAMPAIGNS * EDUCATION * ANIMAL DISASTER AID
http://www.KinshipCircle.org * http://www.kinshipcircle.org/disasters

FOR BREAKING NEWS & ACTION: subscribe@kinshipcircle.org
* Action campaigns on animal cruelty issues worldwide
* Animal rescue coordination/news in disasters

=============================================================
SOURCE OF INFORMATION / REFERENCE LINKS FOR THIS ALERT
=============================================================

USA: Make Sale of Crush Videos Illegal Again!
http://www2.aspca.org/site/MessageViewer?em_id=69424.0
Videos of Animals Crushed by Women in High Heels Are Protected Free Speech?
http://www.democraticunderground.com/discuss/duboard.php?az=view_all&address=103×531413
Crush Act Amendment
http://frwebgate.access.gpo.gov/cgi-bin/getdoc.cgi?dbname=111_cong_bills&docid=f:h5092ih.txt.pdf

DISCLAIMER: The information in these alerts is verified with the original source. Kinship Circle does not assume responsibility for the accuracy of the information or for the consequences of its use. Nothing in this email is intended to encourage illegal action in whatever country you are reading it in. Kinship Circle does not engage in, nor support, any form of harassment or unlawful activity. Nothing in this alert serves to promote such conduct.

Advertisements

Responses

  1. Thank you for speaking out against the horrific crush fetish videos!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Categories

%d bloggers like this: